I was baptized as an infant (“sprinkling,” by a Lutheran pastor). If I believed in water baptism for today, I would be baptized in full immersion.

After studying and praying about water baptism over the course of a year, baptism by the Holy Spirit into the death and resurrection of Christ, and the seven other baptisms talked about in the Bible, I came to the conclusion that it is not God’s will for believers to be baptized into water after the historical times of the apostles (transitional period).

Of course, I am not telling you what to do, (the Bible tells us not to “lord it over” the faith of others), and I don’t think anything negative will happen if you get baptized in water–unless the church you are attending tells you that water baptism is part of what saves you. If they say that, then that is “salvation by works,” as water baptism is a good work, though not done by you. I strongly believe that you should -not- be baptized under those circumstances or even stay in the church if they teach salvation by discipleship instead of by faith in Jesus as Savior.

I asked God in prayer many times if I should be baptized in water and the answer, received in my conscience, and through relevant Scriptures, was always no, that I had already been baptized into Christ, into His death and resurrection.

The only other possible danger I can think of today is that people might emphasize water baptism over the great spiritual thing that Jesus has done for us. It might hinder spiritual growth through a reliance on physical ritual.

Some things to consider…

I can provide articles I have written on this subject of you want.

Here is something someone else wrote that I agree with. It basically summarizes what I believe God is saying in Scripture.

–Curtis

Baptism Is Obsolete
Posted on August 3, 2011 by Mike Gantt

Baptism, which was so prevalent at the beginning of New Testament times, was already becoming obsolete as those times ended.

Even the apostle Paul in his first letter to the believers in Corinth stated, “Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel” (1 Corinthians 1:17).  He knew then that baptism was a transitional ritual for taking the repentant descendants of Israel and preparing them for the kingdom of God which was about to dawn.  On this basis, Paul made clear that the importance of the truth of the gospel of Jesus Christ transcended the ritual of baptizing.  As it says in Hebrews 8:13, “Whatever is becoming obsolete is growing old and ready to disappear.”  If this was true of the entire old covenant, how much more of baptism?

There remains a baptism today, but it is entirely spiritual in nature.  Be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ (Acts 2:38), be baptized in His Holy Spirit (John 1:33) , be washed in the water of His word (Ephesians 5:26), be cleansed by the rivers of living water flowing from your innermost being (John 7:37-39).

We live in the days after the New Testament – that is, in the promised days of the kingdom of God.  Jesus is on the throne and ruling all of creation.  His kingdom is entirely spiritual.  This, however, does not make it less potent than physical kingdoms – on the contrary, it is more powerful than them all.  Ascribe more value and power to spiritual things than to physical things (2 Corinthians 4:18).  Jesus is Lord!