image

(I think this is an absolutely magnificent painting. I do not know the name of the artist. If this is your painting, I would like to give you credit and a link, or I will remove it from this not-for-profit blog, if you wish. Please contact me. Thank you. – Curtis)

For me, death is not fearful because of my faith in Jesus, and the assurance of the Word of God and the comfort of the Holy Spirit in my spirit and soul (and, you can have this assurance, too).

I don’t know why people fear death who believe they will just become unconscious. How can you be afraid of being unconscious?

But, I think people are afraid of more than just unconsciousness.

They are afraid of God’s justice–Hell.

What other reason for all the worried concern over whether a person was a “good person” at funerals? Do people think their good works will get them into Heaven?

The Bible clearly says many times that no one is saved by his or her good works.

And why all the concern over the dead person being “in a better place”? No one is ever said to be in a worse place, and if works are the way to get there, certainly it would have to be said that many people will not be going there based on their works.

I might be afraid of pain, and I am, and have been, but death itself is the door to eternal life and everlasting bliss. I do not believe that this is a mere thought, or a lie, or a delusion. I believe that God and Heaven are the most real things there are.

The one, God, is the source of all creation.

The other, Heaven, is the culmination of all mankind’s hopes and dreams, in a way. I say, in a way, because for those who want perfection and pleasure, Heaven affords that. For those who do not want God to be God over them, for those who do not want Jesus to forgive their sins, Heaven would not be their desire.

There is an alternate Heaven, the kingdom of self and self-will, but there are flames and despair and torment and fear there.

But, yet, I think there is value in the contemplation of death.

The insight is that, YOUR TIME IS LIMITED. Death comes at unseasonable times for a fair share of us.

The book of Proverbs counsels us, as does the excellent secular work of Seneca, to consider the brevity of our lives.

Jesus said not to fear death, but to fear God.

That’s the point, isn’t it?

Why do we need to fear God? Why does the Bible say that the fear of God is the beginning of wisdom? Many people think of God as He is described in Scripture, as love. And God is love. But He is not only love, He also is holy. He is a God of holiness and justice.

If we fear God because He is holy and we are sinners, we will desperately and urgently seek God to receive forgiveness of sins through the atoning sacrifice of His divine Son, Jesus Christ who is God and who was incarnated as a man.

Through a moment of faith in Jesus as our crucified and risen Savior, our problem with sin, death and Hell is solved.

We are immediately assured of forgiveness, eternal life, and Heaven, irrevocably, forever, nothing to the contrary.

John 6:47; 1st Corinthians 15: 1-4

Curtis Smale