Or perhaps, because we are, as humans, already an assemblage of stories. And the gulf that exists between us as people is that when we look at each other we might see faces, skin color, gender, race, or attitudes, but we don’t see, we can’t see, the stories. And once we hear each other’s stories we realize that the things we see as dividing us are, all too often, illusions, falsehoods: that the walls between us are in truth no thicker than scenery.

NEIL GAIMAN
This is exactly why I tell my personal stories. Here they are, some of them:

https://storiesfrommylife13.wordpress.com

Neil Peart of RUSH said in a lyric, I think it was in “Emotion Detector,”* that each of our lives is, “a novel no one else has read.”

Well, what if you read a person’s personal true story novel–and then met that person. What a different experience that would be! Maybe we wouldn’t say, or at least think, “Don’t talk to me like you don’t know me, like you don’t know my thoughts, like you don’t know my story.”

I think everyone should write or record by audio or video, the general outline of their life, and all of their important stories. I would love to read your stories. I would love to read about your life. And then meet and talk with you once again…

CURTIS SMALE

*I was wrong. “Emotion Detector” has a related theme. The correct song that quote was from was, “Entre Nous” (“Enter, the Mind”). It was probably quoted from a piece of classic literature. Here it is:

We are secrets to each other
Each one’s life a novel
No-one else has read
Even joined in bonds of love
We’re linked to one another
By such slender threads
We are planets to each other
Drifting in our orbits
To a brief eclipse
Each of us a world apart
Alone and yet together
Like two passing ships
Just between us
I think it’s time for us to recognize
The differences we sometimes feared to show
Just between us
I think it’s time for us to realize
The spaces in between
Leave room
For you and I to grow
We are strangers to each other
Full of sliding panels
An illusion show
Acting well-rehearsed routines
Or playing from the heart?
It’s hard for one to know
Just between us
I think it’s time for us to recognize
The differences we sometimes feared to show
Just between us
I think it’s time for us to realize
The spaces in between
Leave room
For you and I to grow
We are islands to each other
Building hopeful bridges
On a troubled sea
Some are burned or swept away
Some we would not choose
But we’re not always free
Just between us
I think it’s time for us to recognize
The differences we sometimes feared to show
Just between us
I think it’s time for us to realize
The spaces in between
Leave room
For you and I to grow