What a Visual Migraine Looks Like



The first time I ever got one of these, I was in art class in high school about 38 years ago.

I’ve had maybe 12 to 15 migraine headaches over the years.

I have had the painful kind, only one, thank God: one of the worst pains I’ve ever experienced in my life. If you look at any lights at all it’s like literally being tortured.

This is pretty close to the experience, although the actual thing is even more colorful and more beautiful and shimmering and pulsating, and it moves, kind of like a snake.

So if you ever have one, you’re not going crazy or having a heart attack. You’re not going to lose your vision, although it will be obstructed for about a half hour.

If you focus on the center of vision or around it, you can pretty much still function, although I would not recommend driving, that is for sure.

Curtis Smale

Leave a comment